h1

Following the Swallowtail

July 27, 2014

Yep, that’s what I do when camera in hand and I spot a butterfly. The swallowtails seem to take a little longer to drink than the monarch, which  are very difficult to get pictures of. By the time I reach them with my lens, which is not a zoom but a prime 100, they are on the move again.

One nice thing this year is that I am already seeing more of both species than I have in the past few years. Although I’ve yet to see any caterpillars. This Oregon Swallowtail (Papilio oregonius) certainly had me following him around. One thing I do notice on some though, is how much of their wings they can be missing and still fly.

Swallowtail on Lavender Butterfly Bush-1

There is something very special about seeing a butterfly flying through the air. Maybe because they fly with such delicacy, but they can really move. I’ve watched them fly very quickly through the forest. Skippers have been clocked at around 30mph and some, such as the monarch, are known to fly thousands of miles. Amazing little creatures.

In the past year I’ve certainly been absent from here. Life has certainly been interesting. Technology difficulties such as my computer dying, twice! And then when I finally got a monitor calibrator in May it stopped working a month later. Now that things are fixed I need to keep the momentum going. Last year it was work that took me away from trying to pursue my art. But I find myself currently without employment and realizing this week that I must begin again and let inertia help keep me going.

I absolutely love what I’m doing! I have much to be thankful for in the midst of a lot of difficult things this Summer, but I keep following the Lord and finding ways to share the beauty He puts before me. I know that if I keep my eyes on Him, and not chase what is not the best for me, that I will do well.

I hope this week you have the opportunity to find butterflies and that your week is blessed in following your passions and the maker of our hearts.

“Show me the right path, O LORD; point out the road for me to follow.” Psalms 25:4

 

One comment

  1. Beautiful image!



Leave a comment