h1

Digital Painting Decisions

August 3, 2016

Digital Painting of my photographs is something I find to be quite a challenge but very enjoyable. Making a rendering of people is definitely the hardest for me for many reasons so I tend to stick to what I love taking photos of the most… flowers and nature.

When I start a painting I often have to make decisions right away about what style I want because I have to choose which brushes I will use. In other words, how far do I want to go with the abstraction of shapes and colors? Do I want it to be more realistic or do I want to push the boundaries and add different colors? In my own style I think I am somewhere in the middle between realism and abstraction, and because I am still trying to find my ‘go to’ brushes I really have a long ways I can go in pushing the limits of my digital paintings. I feel that way with acrylic painting as well, but there I definitely know that I want more abstraction. Clicking on a picture will bring up the gallery if you want to see the differences more clearly.

These sunflowers were also created by playing with brushstrokes and asking ‘what if I do this?’ The thing is, for me at least, I find it more enjoyable to play and experiment and not get bogged down in trying to make it ‘my’ style. Mark making is just fun! So why not try lots of them. Even though I usually prefer to keep the colors more the way they are in nature and love to blend colors and brushstrokes, I found that with the last two I really wanted the marks and shapes to be what stood out and not just the color. Although I do think the grey, green and yellow together are very pleasing.

So yes, there is a lot that goes into even a digital painting from a photograph. I use Corel Painter15 and am waiting for the latest version to come out very soon so that I can get last years upgrade as well. Until then I’ll keep taking pictures and having fun at giving some of them a very painterly look.

These images and more are available HERE

Leave a Reply

