h1

My Dragon Year

January 30, 2012

Goals may just be my word for the year 2012. I’ve started with two new year long, online challenges/workshops besides the Sketchbook Challenge.
The first being Kim Klassen’s Beyond Layers, where I am learning about applying textures to my photos, given inspiration, and creative prompts in our 52 weeks together. If you would like to know more about textures and Photoshop tutorials please visit Kim at http://www.kimklassencafe.com/
The next is 12 x 12 in 2012: Picture Book Writing Challenge from Julie Hedlund. You can find her at http://writeupmylife.com/
All these might seem so unrelated and diverse but I continue pursue the different creative interests I have and if somehow they work together, well then great! If not….I’ve decided it’s okay. I guess that’s why the quote by Eric Carle captured my attention tonight. You remember him. He wrote The Very Hungry Caterpillar. He said “Making pictures is how I express my truest feelings, my truest self.” This is how I feel. There is something in the very depths of me that so enjoys creating. But also seem to go through spurts. Hence the challenges, and pushing myself this year to set goals and be accountable to produce and post in the different places I’ve set up. I’m kind of excited that for the Chinese this is the year of the Dragon, because I want to be as tough as a dragon this year and make it happen.

9 comments

  1. Thanks for the link! I’m heading over to check out the photoshop tutorials. I’m self-taught (which means there’s a LOT I don’t know!).

    sf


    • You’re welcome Sarah! Kim teaches a lot of really cool stuff.


  2. Hi Karen
    Can’t find a way to ‘follow’ your blog… :{
    Please do send through a link.
    Best wishes
    Jennifer [JeRu]


    • Hi Jennifer, I added an email button. Hopefully that will help. I have a Weebly website too but wanted to do more with my blog so I started one here on WordPress. You might want to check it out.


  3. You go girl!!

    Karen, I can’t find a way to follow you, please help 😉

    I’m putting you on my fav blog list 🙂

    Love,
    Denise


    • Thanks Denise! So glad you found your way here. I’ve found your blog too now. Hopefully soon I’ll understand where all the widgets are hiding for my theme.


  4. I love your writing…very meaningful. I too am in the same boat trying to understand where all my widgets are and making them work at my blog….big learning curve!


    • Thank you for your lovely comment. Isn’t technology fun! (said with just a teensy bit of sarcasm and a chuckle) I’m very thankful for what we now have and how easy it makes life.



Leave a Reply

