h1

Characters of Inspiration

December 17, 2011

Today I added this drawing to the Sketchbook Challenge on Flickr. I didn’t have a clue what I could contribute this month as I have been concentrating on creating character’s. Which, of course, fit perfectly with last month’s challenge about Imaginary Animals. But November theme is Trashed, Ruined and Decay and I struggled to find inspiration. Then last night, after drawing the beginning of this character, I realized that I had found my submission without even trying.

You see, most of my Christmas ornaments are very whimsical and last year this one broke, and so far I’ve not been able to repair it and simply couldn’t throw it away. And since I am on personal quest to create my own human-like characters for stories and illustrations, I knew that I wanted to draw the ornament and hoped it would help me get over this block that has been keeping me from going forward.

Through this one little exercise I found that out of those things which we discard or neglect, that which can be right in front of us, is often what we need to pursue our dreams. For me, life is all about finding those things that have made us who we are today and let them shine and touch another persons life, because we all need to be touched by another as we make our way through this world full of the broken and ruin. Today I chose to find joy and inspiration amidst life’s decay, because there is always beauty and purpose in every little corner.Image

Leave a Reply

